9-14-2014

Lane entries due, OTC overwhelmed, turf's up


Lane CC (Northwest Classic) cross country entries are due to me by this Tuesday, September 16, by 4pm. Email me at or text me at 541-954-0263. Details below. Act now!

Last Thursday night we brought out the big guns at the Oregon Track monthly road race at Amazon Community Center. Our runners took the top four places in the 5km race, as well as nine of the top twelve. Results below.

Next month’s OTC race is same distance, same place on Thursday evening October 9. That’s two days before our Mike Hodges cross country race in Portland.

We’ll stick with 8:30am runs from my house this week, then switch to 10am on campus for the final week before school starts.

If anyone wants to run or walk with my dog Copper any day, anytime, please contact me. Romaine Soh, Chelsea Oda and Megan Kupres all took Copper out last week. Thank you!

The street in front of the rec center is ready for paving again and the intramural fields are almost completely re-turfed. ‘Must be time to come back to campus!

The runners who are already here have done a great job as ball crew at UO volleyball matches. It’s money in the bank for us and, most importantly, Liz Brenner knows we’re watching.

Northwest Classic Entries Due Right Now!

Our next cross country race is Friday evening, September 19, at Lane CC here in Eugene. You can ride the bus out there!

To enter, you must tell me by 4pm this Tuesday, September 16. Email or text me at 541-954-0263.

Entry fee is $10. Give it to me on race day or before, cash or checks to “Lane Athletics”.

So far, I’ve just entered Matt Bailey and newcomer Hayley Scott.

Women race 5km at 5:15pm. Men race 4 miles at 6:00pm. Surface is grass, bark chips, with 300m on the track to finish. A couple of short, steep hills.

This is a low-key race for us on Friday night, a big race for high schoolers on Saturday morning.

We’re trying to sort out uniforms now…more info later for newcomers.

Eugene Runs...8:30AM Weekdays Again

This week we’ll stick with 8:30am runs for one more week, Monday through Friday, September 15-19, beginning at my house.

I live at 1012 E. 21st Avenue. That’s on the corner of 21st and Harris, two blocks west of University Street.

If you ride your bike to my house, please bring a lock. I’ll be riding my bike as you run, so there won’t be anyone to watch your bike. You can leave bags, shirts, phones inside the house if needed.

OTC Race Results!

We had 13 active Club members run this race, as well as two alums. Take a look:

1. Kevin Cave 15:32 (alum)
2. Matt Bailey 15:53
3. Mike Matuszak 16:09
4. Josh Gordon 16:10
6. Moises Martinez 17:02
9. Jared Steele 19:23 PR
10. Clay Wilkes 17:21
11. Renee Gordon 18:13 first woman
12. Betsy Bies 18:36 second woman (alum)
15. Brandon Sov 19:14
16. Brian Leeson 19:23
20. Emily Jones 20:51 fourth woman
28. Michaela Achilles 21:48
32. Alison Goodwin 22:27
42. Cereescia Sandoval 24:38
80 finishers

Jared Steele moved up 21 places on our all-time 5km road list!

Link to full results:
http://onlineraceresults.com/event/view_event.php?event_id=13716

Copper Lives!

My wife Janet is in Kenya for six weeks. That means I walk or run with our dog Copper twice a day everyday. If anyone wants to take Copper for a walk or run any day (morning, afternoon or evening), let me know!

Pick a day and time and confirm with me…

or text/call me at 541-954-0263.

Copper is an eight-year old Australian Shepherd who thinks he’s much younger.

Week #7 of Cross Country Preparation

We now have two weeks until school starts and nine until NIRCA nationals in cross country. Here is Week #7, beginning September 15:

Hill reps -- Do 20-30 minutes of hill running, like two weeks ago. 30 minutes is okay. Run up, jog down. Don’t run faster or harder than race effort uphill...very easy on the downhill unless the downhill is very gentle. The 20-30 minutes is total running time including both uphill and downhill, excluding warmup and cooldown. This is preparation for NIRCA regionals and nationals which are on hilly courses.

Cruise intervals -- 3-5 x 4:00 with just 1:00 jog recovery. You should know now that these reps are run at lactate threshold, the same as tempo run pace. Cruise intervals are a tempo run broken up into repetitions with very short rest. Some people feel that cruise intervals are less stressful than a tempo run. Others feel that it’s easier to find a groove doing a tempo run, and that the speeding up and slowing down in a cruise interval workout is challenging.

If you are racing on Friday at Lane and you only want to do one of these workouts, you can pick either. If you do them both, I’d suggest doing the hills first, beginning on Monday. You could try the Jack Daniels approach and do the two workouts back-to-back on Monday and Tuesday, then take two easy days before Friday’s race...or just do them on Monday and Wednesday, and have one light day before the meet.

Long run -- same as last week.


- - - - - Week #6 is below - - - - -

4-5 x 3:00 (current XC race pace) with 2-3:00 jog-walk. Do this on a soft surface, not pavement.

On another day, do relaxed strides...10-15, with 1:00 of walk and jog between. Do every third stride harder than the others. Again, run this on track, grass or dirt...not pavement.

On another day, during your easy run, do two brisk reps of 4:00...these are at lactate threshold. They should feel good!

Increase your weekly long run by one mile if that seems reasonable. The goal is to be able to do 12-15 miles routinely during the season, on the weekend.

Newbies

Andy Heeszel
transfer from Western Oregon
aheeszel27@gmail.com

Emma Childs
frosh
emmachilds11@gmail.com

* * * *

Our 39 previous newcomers:

Trevor Soucy, frosh, Springfield HS, soucy.trevor@gmail.com
Mike Matuszak, PhD student Economics, North Central College, mtmatuszak@gmail.com
Nick Tremonti, ntremonti@gmail.com
Ron Desisa, frosh, ron.desisa@gmail.com

Robbie Ellis, frosh, Tualatin, hurdler, relay runner, robbie.ellis@rocketmail.com
Sarah Stubblefield, frosh, Southwest Christian (Port), 800m, 1500m, 96smileyface@live.com
Brandon Sov, frosh, South Eugene, brandonsov@gmail.com
Mackenzie McConnell, UO soph, Cottage Grove, kenzie.jane331@gmail.com

Jacque Greazzo, frosh, Pinkerton Academy, NH, sprinter, hept, JGreazzo73@yahoo.com
Brent Lessley, UO grad student, Puyallup WA, blessley@uoregon.edu
Cereescia Sandoval, grad student, cns@uoregon.edu
Mandi Jasmin, UO soph, Lake Oswego, mjasmin@uoregon.edu

Krissy Sonniksen, grad student, Portland, UO track alum, k.a.sonniks@gmail.com
Isaac Gibson, frosh, San Antonio TX, irgibson95@gmail.com
Blake Chiuminetta, frosh, Dripping Springs TX, chiuminetta3@aol.com
Sara Bagnell, frosh, Point Loma HS, San Diego, sarabagell@gmail.com

Erin Herting, frosh, Monte Vista HS CA, erinherting@gmail.com
Emma Decker, soph transfer, emm.decker@gmail.com
Jenn Lewis, UO doctoral student, Clinical Psychology, jlewis5@uoregon.edu
Brittany Day, transfer from Univ. of South Carolina, from New Jersey, bday@email.sc.edu

Jane Ward, Education grad student, jward@uoregon.edu
Madeleine Kern, junior transfer from Seattle Pacific, madeleinek3@gmail.com
Hayley Scott, frosh, Toronto ONT, hscott2@uoregon.edu
Josh Gurnick, undergrad, Woodland Hills CA, joshuagurnick@gmail.com

Chin Hui Ng, transfer, Singapore, ng.chin.hui@hotmail.com
Alison Goodwin, UO writing associate from Albuquerque, goodwin@uoregon.edu
Evan Pardi, UO triathlete, junior, evanpardi@gmail.com
Michaela Achilles, exchange student from Stuttgart, Germany,machille@uoregon.edu

Audrey Roberts, returning UO student, Bend OR, audrey.roberts93@gmail.com
Nora Sawyer, frosh, Cleveland HS, Portland, nsawyer@uoregon.edu
Simon Bensoussan, UO sophomore, simonbensoussan@hotmail.fr
Angelin Figueroa Rivera, exchange student from Puerto Rico, angelinf@uoregon.edu

Josh Pasos, grad student, architecture, jpasos@uoregon.edu
Matt Stephens, frosh, mstephe7@uoregon.edu
Scott Davis, junior transfer, Riverside City College CA, scottdavis93@aim.com
Brian Raichlen, Undergraduate, Economics, raichlen@uoregon.edu

Kristi Goodspeed, frosh, kristigoodspeed@gmail.com
Nora Willauer, UO sophomore, Hope ME, emwillauer@gmail.com
Scotty Williams II, frosh, 400m, Benson HS, Portland, Scottyw@uoregon.edu

And the three mystery guests…

Nina Greene ninag@uoregon.edu
Bryan Rodriguez Bryanknights2014@gmail.com
Emma Boys emma.boys12@gmail.com

Welcome, all!

Cross Country Schedule

Fri, September 19 Northwest Classic Eugene (Lane CC)

Sat, October 4 Willamette Invitational Salem (Bush Park)

Sat, October 11 Mike Hodges Invitational Clackamas CC, Oregon City

Sat, October 18 Lewis & Clark Invitational McIver Park, Estacada

Sat, October 25 NIRCA Pacific Regional Crystal Springs, Belmont CA

Sat, November 15 NIRCA Nationals East Lansing, Michigan

It's Tom

A few newcomers have struggled with what to call me! Let’s keep it simple. Just call me “Tom”. I’ll call you by your first name too, as soon as I connect name and face.

==========

‘See you,
Tom Heinonen
coach

← Previous item | Next item →


clubsports

Who we are. What we do!

UO Running Club gives students the chance to get together to run, train and race. Most of our sessions are steady runs. A couple of days each week we offer harder training sessions (intervals, repetitions, hills, tempo runs, cruise intervals).

The club is coached by Tom Heinonen, a member of the US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Hall of Fame who coached the University of Oregon women for nearly three decades. In his time coaching the women, he transformed the team from a young program into an NCAA powerhouse. He retired in 2003 to start the club and has been coaching it since.

In the Fall, we compete in collegiate cross country races throughout Oregon, then finish our season at the NIRCA Championships, where we face other college clubs. In the Spring, we enter in collegiate track meets. Several of our runners earn the opportunity to race at Hayward Field each spring. There are road races throughout the year.

We have a wide range of talent and commitment levels, from recreational runners to All-Americans.

Club members receive an e-mailed workout schedule for the following week every Sunday. There is no fee to join the club.

All running sessions are optional. To join, just show up to one of the practices or contact one of us.

The Running Club is a great way to get together with students and to enjoy running!

RunningWarehouse


******************************

'Starting a Running Club?
'Building Your Club?

Read this, a document written by our Club leaders!

******************************

Ticket Jones is a proud sponsor of the University of Oregon RunningClub. We handle a variety of sporting event tickets including the NCAA Final Four, NHL Hockey, and the Pro Bowl. Our packages such as Broadway theatre performances and concerts can be ordered world-wide. Domestic events center around football games, (college football and NFL), US Open Tennis tournaments, and College Bowl games. Internationally we focus on soccer matches. Local favorite teams include the Boston Celtics, New England Patriots, and the Boston Red Sox. Tour packages are available for MLB Baseball, exciting PBR and NFR rodeo events, Grandslam Tennis, NASCAR and all Washington Wizards basketball games.